Love in Court on Valentine's Day

By Fred Hamilton
While hundreds of people filed into the South County Courthouse to answer to their traffic
infractions or address other legal matters, in a quiet room in the Self Services Center, Fausto
Vladimir Florentino and Cindy Antonia Camacho started the first day of their married lives on
Valentine’s Day.
“I thought I was going to be a wreck but surprisingly not, I don’t have any regrets,” Florentino,
31, said. “If you would have asked me a year ago, ‘Am I going to be nervous when I get
married?’ I would have said, ‘Oh, sure. I’m going to be sweating bullets.’ But I know she is the
one, I’m sure and I’m actually calmer than I’ve been a in a long time.”

The Florentinos of Boca Raton were among 38 couples – 11 in Delray Beach – who said their
vows to one another at one of the four courthouses, a popular Valentine’s Day destination for
people desiring to tie the knot. The clerk performed a group wedding for another 31 lovebirds at
the National Croquet Center in what’s become a tradition for the county clerk’s office.

The marriage court sees an average of 7.5 couples on an average day, spokeswoman Kathy
Burstein said, but days such as Valentine’s and sequential dates (as Dec.12, 2012) tend to be
popular.
About 7,500 brides got hitched in America – a 1,446 percent increase from the less significant
12/12/11, according to a survey conducted by US-based David’s Bridal.

“We see a pretty sizeable increase on special occasions,” Burstein said. “Last Valentine’s Day,
we had 38 couples married in the courthouse and in 2011, we had 47 ceremonies that day.”

Burstein said there has been more interest in group weddings.

“We just had an email from someone wanting to know how they can sign up for next year and
we even haven’t gotten over this year yet,” she said.

A courthouse wedding cost 93.50 and couples can save $32.50 by taking a premarital course.

The Florentinos are planning a bigger wedding next year, but getting married before that
celebration takes some of the pressure off a single day, Florentino said.
The pair met in a video store four years ago in Lynn, Mass.
Florentino, who had relocated from New York with his company, saw her in an aisle, mustered
the courage and approached her.
“It gets even better because I gave him pointers on the movie and tips to watch, and I said nice
talking to you, Cindy, 32, said, “Then I went to the other side of the store.”
But Florentino grabbed another movie and found her.
“What do you think of this one? Is it good?” she recalled him asking.
“And I said, ‘Yes, it was good, I saw it.’”
Again she walked to the other side to see if he really wanted her opinions or in fact, her.
“So the third time, I knew that he really wanted to talk to me,” said Cindy, who does quality
control for a Lake Worth firm.
They exchanged emails and the rest became history.
“As they say, it pays to be persistent sometimes,” Florentino said. “If I wasn’t persistent, if I had
said twice is enough, we wouldn’t be here today.”

Comment on this story at Fred@Delraybeachtribune.com or 561-665-0151.

About Pedro Heizer

I'm a person of simple taste, all I need is some country music, Batman, Star Wars, sports, coffee, and most importantly Jesus Christ, because what profits a man if he gains the whole world and loses his soul? View all posts by Pedro Heizer

Leave a Reply

